Dream trip day 15   ferry, bus ride to Zurich

My bus leaves at 1 so plenty of time to have a leisurely morning.

Check out and hit post machine with correct change.

Lick, stamp cards and into the box they go.

A nice walk to train, bus station. Sunny for a change.

Get a donner to fill me up all day, good and cheap 4€.

Find the bus depot, well what do you know, bus has been delayed.

Hit the restroom with over zealous woman who stalks the men’s room, mopping, wiping down toilets after each use, she holds her hand up and won’t allow anyone into a stall until it’s been wiped down a bit.

Delayed 45 min, so just walk the length of bus depot, back and forth listening to tunes.

People crush to the door upon arrival, drivers close door and talk for 10 min, hope about bus stuff but prob only friendly interaction they get all day.

Sparse bus so I get my own seat, sleep overtakes me soon after we pull out of Munich. 

Wake up and again, green and lush landscape flys by.

Each small town on the route has a clock tower in the center and houses, roads spread out around it.

Pass a brewery, large silos and hop fields near.

Lots of walking and biking trails connecting each town, see a guy roller blading in the middle of field on paved trail.

We see water now, so blue, we descend down winding roads closer and closer.

Pull up to a dock, what is this? We are allowed to leave the bus while we cross the channel on a ferry!

I venture out to the front of ship, many stay in their cars, why?! Free view and breeze, plus a chance to walk are too good to pass.

Walk all around the ship, light breeze cools my face, blue waters surrounds us.

Another hour and we are in Zurich.

Very French and Dutch style houses on mountains overlooking the city with sun blazing as I exit bus.

Busy streets, trolley connected to wires zoom by in the middle of most roads.

Find my hostel and up 4 flights to top of the NZ Cafe.

Most prison like bunks ever, just barely fit when laying down, can feel cold steel on one side, no room to sit up in bed and I hit my head when attempting to put shoes on.

No AC so open windows which just makes things loud due to traffic below.

I’m in entertainment district so lots of scantily clad ladies and want to be ladies are on most corners looking for dates.

I walk in search of the river, I take the longest, least direct route but see many great buildings and people.

Bikers are everywhere and many smoke, or blast music from their phones as the ride.

I find the river and follow along for awhile til I find a park, lots of people, couples loungin in the grass, cuddling or drinking.

Head back to the area around hostel in search of food.

See many donner spots but now it costs 9-10€.

Figure cheaper option is Chinese, been craving rice.

Kung pao chicken it is for dinner at small spot.

Hard lesson, but I get a beer, 6€. No more beer w meals, save them € buy beer at store.

Two youths ask to join me, both speak German and I reply bitte, while extending my hand like others did when I needed a seat.

They share a similar meal, makes me realize I eat for two as they are thin thin.

Head back to hostel but still light, turn down a road and hear loud music and laughing.

I found a huge park, kids playing, couples snuggling, families eating, sketchy guys drinking or sleeping on benches.

Stay and watch awhile, sun still up.

Decide I’m close enough to find my way back and figure city opens up soon if I head west for a good dusk pic.

Sadly the city goes on and on, night falls after several blocks, been walking for 5 hrs at this point, time to return.

Stumble on some sort of park party with people drinking listening to loud music, I stand a moment and soon see its kids around high school age so I move on.

Find my way back and the street is popping, people all over walking or sitting in patio areas with bevs, especially ladies.

I walk back and forth to where street ends taking the sights and sounds in.

I head back upstairs to change and get a free beer owed me at the bar.

Beers good, only 4 people in the whole night at bar, I decide to try all beers on tap, 5€ each, they are Bier Paul.

Overhear English, table of girls are talking about guys they meet and dumb things they say and do. Bad dates and poor booty calls, I laugh to myself too.

Some bum literally staggers in and yet is served.

He turns to me and asks if I want to see his box and smoke a joint.

The bartender has enough talk about his box after about 20 minutes and asks him to leave, turns on bar go home lights.

She wants to close early since no one is drinking, but once bum leaves she pours me another and says I can drink while she cleans since I seem cool.

She is Canadian but grew up in a Zurich, she knows 4 languages, most people here do.

German and French are main languages but real Swiss speak in regional dialect in west.

I finish up after we talk more about Zurich and her schooling.

Luckily only 5 ppl in 12 bed room, but always a snorer, wonder how bad I snore?

I fall asleep to sounds of honking cars and people yelling.

Beer: Beir Paul 10
Song: ABBA Dancing Queen

Leave a Reply

