Dream Trip Day 27.   Bourdeaux to Lisboa, sun

My flight was at noon so we left around 10.

Said goodbye to Eric and Snoop. Thanked him for cooking, room and hospitality.

Flight was in small, unfinished part of airport, hence the cost savings. 

Goodbye sunscreen, thanks security.

Boarded on Tarmac, ladders on front and back of plane.

Of course it rained, of course people inside took their time so I and many others got soaked despite stewards pleas to hurry as it wasn’t full flight, just get out of the aisle.

thought it was a 2 hr flight but we lost an hour so really 3 hrs in the air.

Easy navigation to hostel via bus.

Difficult to locate door to hostel however. Walked around the block twice before I found it.

Simple check in, huge room with many bunks, I’m on top per usual.

Set out to see ocean, only a few blocks away.

Stare at the sea and feel sun, cool breeze for the first time in a week.

Men walk around selling sunglasses, marijuana, hashish, cocaine. 

I was asked about 10 times to buy drugs before I left the seaport. I was there an hour.

The hostel posted a sign saying don’t buy street drugs as they are fake and it isn’t a crime to sell anything not illegal so cops do not stop them.

There is a large euro zone fan screen area nearby. I get a beer and watch a boring game until the half and people watch.

In search of food but it’s all either expensive or tapas which wind up being expensive as you’ve got to order many plates.

Settle on doner and once again it does not disappoint.

Back to hostel as sun sets to shower.

2€ bottles so I drink several on narrow balcony, only wide enough to stand, 2 ppl max.

Hostel has guitars so I strum chords for awhile and miss playing mine but yet when I was at home with guitar next to me I rarely played. 

Loudest snorer ever. A lady actually wakes him up and says, ‘please turn over. You’re snoring.’

 Beer: Super Bock 

Song: Edith Piaf La Vie en Rose 

Leave a Reply

