Dream trip day 78 Water festival, island views, Pivovar Národní

Hooray sun, a great way to wake up!

I headed out for coffee and to plan my final full day in the city.

The west side area was very intriguing to me as well as the part of town I’d been to the least, may as well start there.

Success! There was a festival or competition going on as I heard sounds of music once I reached the bridge.

In the river below, they’d sectioned off the far side so they could host jet ski races.

I wasn’t aware racing jet skis was a thing, so this was a very excellent competition to stumble upon.

Making my way down stairs, the music grew louder and louder.

It became unbearably loud once I arrived to the stage. A DJ was spinning tunes and some girls flanked him on either side of the stage.

These 2 girls wore bikini’s and were sort of half ass swaying to the music, one foot in front of the other, repeat. They looked incredibly bored.

They were dancing to a lone kid, no older than 10, the only person in front of the stage rocking out to painfully loud EDM.

I watched several races, cheering on a girl who was for sure the youngest contestant, but alas, her motor dipped into the water and stalled out so she had to wait for a tow.

A dude in a lifeguard orange wet suit soon lassoed her jet ski around the steering controls and towed it away from the still continuing race as the girl hopped on the back of his jet ski.

What luck this event had cheap beer and brauts for sale so a late lunch was secured.

I nestled into a small area by a tree, the river to my right, the huge castle in the distance to my left, the Charles Bridge dead ahead across the water.

The sun shone down on me as I ate. I was so happy to be out experiencing this random event in a very cool city. Lucky, lucky me to be on this amazing trip.

I stayed way after the skiing event ended and the sun began to set on this island oasis.

There was a large brewery restaurant that I passed many times on my westerly walks, so tonight was the night to give it a shot.

It was still early…or late, dinner time was very different overseas. Point was most tables inside were full, so I was lead out back by the very pretty, very long haired hostess.

The inside was very wooden: long wood tables, big wood chairs complemented the wooden walls.

Not the case on the patio, full of several rows of metal tables covered by umbrellas.

I sat at a small, unoccupied table. A waitress duly came over and seemed even more disappointed I just wanted beer, not food. Hey at least she spoke English!

All the beers in this place were very good and very Czech. I was rather pleased that I’d developed a good palette for the many beer regions I’d been to on my travels.

Czech style were usually very light and crisp, perfect for a hot day or reward after a long work day.

Czech did have dark beers as well, but they weren’t super heavy, like dark Belgium or German beers that overwhelmed and knocked you and your tastebuds on their ass.

This joint made both light and dark styles all named Czech Lion followed by the degree number. I’d read this degree was percent malts used OR sugars after fermenting.

Higher the degree the darker, sweeter the brew. I’d seen some US brands refer to this as Plato.

For sure it’s very complicated and was perfected by a German as most things beer related seem to be.

It lightly sprinkled rain on and off, and due to the umbrellas, no one moved inside.

After my third pint the friendly waitress said they would be closing soon. It was nearing midnight.

Probably a good thing to call it and ‘early’ night ( I know, right, midnight… early night?! I was on a whole different time table due to my new, free schedule.)

I had an early train ride scheduled for 10 am. So early I know but when you add in check out time and a walk to the station, that made it early for me.

Oh well I could sleep on the train.

Next stop, Kraków, Poland!

Song:  the Chainsmokers   Don’t Let me Down ft Daya (NOT Rihanna like I thought. Heard this one a lot on the trip, but finally able to shazam it thanks to the festival DJ playing his entire set on max volume)

Beer:  Czech Lion 11° Nefiltrovaný Ležák

Leave a Reply

