Dream trip Day 88 Train, bus, hello Warsaw

I woke up, showered and scoped the common room of the hostel. Only a couple people and I didn’t feel like having instant coffee so I walked next door.

I got a cinnamon roll like pastry with my cup of coffee. Plus I asked for mleko in it, a bit of milk. Thanks google translate! Now I can make ladies in other countries laugh at my failed attempt at speaking their language. 

Sitting on a bench in front of a church I read over the many posters that gave brief history of pope John Paul II history with Poland, Krakow. The current pope had been in town a few weeks prior to my visit.

He grew up in Krakow, I learned, and he spoke 12 languages! Damn overachiever, haha that is totally amazing and no doubt helped him as a pope.

Next to me was the ever present pigeon feeder, flinging bread all over to a happy flock of birds.

I am annoyed by pigeons and wish we could get them under control in cities. They shit everywhere and that has to effect people’s health. I envisioned a sound gun or something that would disable them so you can capture the birds, which are then cooked and given to the homeless (provided that downtown pigeon meat is safe to eat). Perhaps the feathers could be used to make pillows for the homeless too.

I soon had to collect my things in order to checkout on time or else face a fine.

It wasn’t very far to the mall, train depot plus I had time so I casually strolled under the bridge and through the mall. Even went upstairs to check out the 2nd floor.

The train depot was small so locating my track was easy. I even selected the correct car and seat!

We pulled out from the station and once again, rolling green fields and countryside appeared. So beautiful.

Not a long train ride either, about 4 hours.

According to the map app I use, there was a cool sounding hostel about a 2 mile walk through the city in the old town. This is a great way to see the lay of the land.

Through an industrial section gave way to a small restaurant area, before a park was near. Always take the route that goes through a park or green area when in another city even if it is a little bit out of your way.

I soon was in a green area that suddenly had houses and businesses. There was an open gate ahead though it seemed like I was about to go into someone’s backyard, I walked through to a narrow street full of shops, eateries.

About a mile long I’d say, different ethnic cuisines on either side of the street.

Warsaw was very affordable, especially compared to Zurich. Spend 2 days in Zurich or 5 in Warsaw is about the comparison. I also just noticed you cannot spell Zurich without rich, ZuRICH.

I found that probably the best thing one can do shortly after checking in somewhere is to get a shower in. Scope the scene and get clean, then whilst air drying you can orientate yourself with the city.

Tonight I had a hankering for noodles, so I took off on an ill fated journey as the place I selected seemed to be inside a mall or behind a door I missed. I walked the dadgum block all the way around, couldn’t find it.

I settled on another noodle joint I randomly passed by and it was pretty good. Then again, I really enjoy noodles.

I walked back to my side of town as the sun went down. Always a good idea to be somewhat close to your dwelling when in a unknown city near dark.

In the oldest part of town was the Elephant Belgium Pub, so I took a slight trip back to one of my favorite countries.

The spectacle here was outside. Cobblestone streets, no cars, full band buskers, you name it, they were on display here.

I alternated views from a fubol match on one side in the pub to the street view from the window.

I sauntered home after a couple pints. Traveling by train sure wears you out for some reason.

Song: David Bowie  Warszawa

Beer: Space Sheep

 

20160819_144740.jpg

Leave a Reply

